## Biophysical Society 69<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting Membrane Fusion, Fission, and Traffic Subgroup Symposium Saturday, February 15, 2025 Los Angeles, California

Subgroup Chair: Jefferson Knight, University of Colorado, Denver, USA

Symposium Time: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM PST

Symposium Room: 501ABC

Subgroup Business Meeting: 10:30 AM PST

8:00 AM Opening Remarks

8:35 AM Shigeki Watanabe, Johns Hopkins University, USA Mechanisms of Short-Term Plasticity

9:05 AM Patricia Bassereau, Institut Curie, France Mimicking ESCRT-III Induced Fission of HIV-1

9:45 AM Stephanie Gupton, University of North Carolina, USA Expanding the Neuronal Plasma Membrane During Development

10:15 AM Break

10:30 AM Business Meeting

10:40 AM Matthew Hankins, Oxford University, UK

MprF from Antimicrobial Resistant Pathogens is a Promiscuous Lipid Scramblase with Broad Substrate Specificity

11:10 AM Kate White, University of Southern California, USA Chemical biology approaches for mapping peptide hormone maturation

11:20 AM Haoyang Liu, University of Texas, USA Ubiquitylation-driven receptor selection at endocytic sites: a competitive filtering mechanism

11:27 AM Nicoletta Bouzos, University of Southern California, USA Investigating the biomolecular mechanisms of membrane fission by clathrin during endocytosis

11:35 AM Sir Bernard Katz Award to Dr. Ling-Gang Wu, National Institutes of Health, USA.

11:40 AM Yongli Zhang, Yale University, USA Mechanisms of SNARE Assembly and Disassembly on Membranes

11:55 AM Manfred Lindau, University of Miami, USA Monitoring SNARE complex dynamics associated with vesicle priming in live chromaffin cells

12:10 AM Erdem Karatekin, Yale University, USA Synaptotagmin-1 – lipid binding promotes vesicle docking and fusion pore stability

12:29 PM Closing Remarks

The Membrane Fusion, Fission, and Traffic Subgroup is grateful for support from the following sponsors:





