Exocytosis & Endocytosis

Brian Salzberg, Chair (2017)
Jürgen Klingauf, Past Chair (2016)

The mission of this subgroup is to further the understanding of the basic mechanisms of exocytosis and endocytosis. Research in this area has advanced rapidly in the last few years, owing to the convergence of a number of formerly distinct disciplines and the invention of new methods for high-resolution, real-time monitoring of exocytosis and endocytosis. Details of the machinery for sensing intracellular calcium elevation and for fusion of the vesicle and plasma membranes are gradually emerging. Our subgroup seeks to accelerate progress by facilitating exchange of ideas and collaborations. We organize a yearly symposium in conjunction with the Annual Meeting of the Biophysical Society, and the symposium is followed by a dinner and a mixer. The subgroup has consolidated and sponsors the Bernard Katz Award, which recognizes outstanding scientific careers in the field of exocytosis and endocytosis.


Operating Committee for 2016

Jürgen Klingauf, University of Münster, Chair (2016)
Gary Matthews, Stony Brook University, Past Chair (2015)
Ruth Heidelberger, University of Texas Medical School at Houston
James Rothman, Yale University

2016 Sir Bernard Katz Awardee: Sandra Schmid


Join the Exocytosis & Endocytosis Subgroup
Dues and Dinner: $65 for members, $45 for students
In order to join a Subgroup, you must be a member of the Society.


2016 Annual Meeting Program
2015 Annual Meeting Program
Past Exocytosis & Endocytosis Chairs
Sir Bernard Katz Award
Past Sir Bernard Katz Awardees
Past Programs
Exocytosis & Endocytosis Bylaws