Emily M. Gray Award

2013 Emily M. Gray Awardee:
Louis de Felice
Virginia Commonwealth University


Past Awardees:
2012: Kenneth Dill and Sarina Bromberg
2011: Bertil Hille
2010: Greta Pifat-Mrzljak
2009: Philip C. Nelson
2008: Donald M. Crothers
2007: John Steve Olson
2006: Ignacio Tinoco, Jr.
2005: Barry R. Lentz
2004: Richard D. Ludescher
2003: Michael Summers
2002: Norma Allewell
2001: Jane Richardson
2000: Charles Cantor and Paul Schimmel
1999: Kensal E. van Holde
1998: Muriel S. Prouty

Established in 1997; the first award was presented in 1998.

Deadline for nominations: May 1 of each year.

The Emily M. Gray Award is given for significant contributions to education in biophysics, contributions that may include a distinguished record of excellence in classroom instruction, in mentoring research scientists at any level, in developing novel educational methods or materials, in promoting scientific outreach efforts to the public or to youth, in generating a track record of attracting new students to thefield of biophysics, or in otherwise fostering an environment exceptionally conducive to education in biophysics. The Emily M. Gray Lecture will be the keynote presentation at the Student Symposium at the Annual Meeting. The winner receives an honorarium of $750.



  • Nominee must have made an exceptional contribution to education in biophysics.
  • Nominee must be a member of the Society in good standing.
  • Nominator must submit completed Nomination Form and required documents.

Nominations packets must include the following:

  1. Completed Award Nomination Form
  2. Letter describing qualifications of the nominee
  3. Two supporting letters
  4. Nominee’s curriculum vitae, focusing on educational and teaching contributions, and relevant list of publications

Fill out nomination form and submit required materials in PDF format here.