Avanti Award in Lipids

2013 Avanti Award in Lipids Winner:

Joseph Zasadzinski
University of Minnesota

Past Awardees:
2012: Huey W. Huang 
2011: Eric Oldfield
2010: James A. Hamilton
2009: Stephen H. White
2008: Ben de Kruijff
2007: Klaus Gawrisch
2006: Thomas E. Thompson
2005: Joachim Seelig
2004: Thomas J. McIntosh
2003: John F. Nagle and Stephanie Tristram-Nagle
2002: N/A
2001: Ronald McElhaney
2000: Edward A. Dennis
1999: Richard M. Epand
1998: Lewis C. Cantley
1997: Ching-hsien Huang

Established in 1994.

Deadline for nominations: May 1 of each year.
Avanti Polar Lipids, Incorporated has established an annual award to be given by the Biophysical Society. The award will be given to an investigator for outstanding contributions to our understanding of lipid biophysics. The winner receives an honorarium of $3,000.


  • Nominee must have made important and well-recognized contributions to an understanding of lipid biophysics, including but not limited to the metabolism, enzymology, structure, or function of lipids or lipid membranes.
  • Nominee must not have received an Avanti Award in any prior year and may not nominate himself or herself.
  • Nominee must be a member of the Society in good standing.
  • Nominee may be of any nationality or academic rank, and may be affiliated with non-academic institutions provided that the work for which they are to be acknowledged has been published in a recognized scholarly journal.
  • Nominator must submit completed Nomination Form and required documents.

Nominations packets must include the following

  1. Completed Award Nomination Form
  2. Letter (no more than 2 pages) supporting the candidacy of the nominee and highlighting specific publications deemed representative or especially worthy of recognition
  3. Letter from the nominee accepting nomination
  4. Two supporting letters from other Society members
  5. Nominee’s curriculum vitae

Fill out nomination form and submit required materials in PDF format here.