Symposia cover broad topics in biophysics with presentations by leading experts in their field.  All symposia speakers are invited to speak by the Program Committee.  Symposia are held Sunday - Wednesday.

Peptides as the Future of Biological Drugs

Miguel Castanho, University of Lisbon, Portugal, Chair
Joel Schneider, NCI, NIH, USA
Robert Hancock, University of British of Columbia, Canada
Ana Salomé Veiga, University of Lisbon, Portugal

Dynamics Driving Allostery

Gilad Haran, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel, Chair
Ivet Bahar, Stony Brook University, USA
Banu Ozkan, Arizona State University, USA
Speaker to be announced

Intrinsically Disordered Regions in Transcriptional Regulation

Benjamin Sabari, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, USA, Chair
Naama Barkai, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
Denes Hnisz, Max Planck Institute for Molecular Genetics, Germany
Wonki Cho, KAIST, South Korea

Biophysics of Cancer

Kandice Tanner, NCI, NIH, USA, Chair
Christina Towers, Salk Institute for Biological Studies, USA
Chrystal Starbird, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA
Nicole LaRonde, Pfizer, USA

New Insights into Ion Channel Regulation

Anna Bukiya, University of Tennessee Health Science Center, USA, Co-Chair
Avia Rosenhouse-Dantsker, University of Illinois at Chicago, USA, Co-Chair
Tamara Rosenbaum, National Autonomous University of Mexico, Mexico 
Kailash Gulshan, Cleveland State University, USA

Gating Modalities of Mechanically-Activated Ion Channels

Swetha Murthy, Oregon Health & Science University, USA, Chair
Medha Pathak, University of California, Irvine, USA
Eduardo Perozo, University of Chicago, USA
Bailong Xiao, Tsinghua University, China

Structural Mechanisms of GPCR Activation, Regulation, and Signaling

Jennifer Cash, University of California, Davis, USA, Chair
Jean-Philippe Fortin, Pfizer, USA
Patrick Sexton, Monash University, Australia
Matthieu Masureel, Genentech, USA

Membrane Lipidomics of Multiresistant Bacteria

Mibel Aguilar, Monash University, Australia, Chair
Megan O'Mara, The University of Queensland, Australia
Kelly Hines, University of Georgia, USA
Jessica Seeliger, Stony Brook University, USA

Biophysics of Host-Pathogen Interactions and Infection Processes

Effie Bastounis, University of Tübingen, Germany, Chair
Daria Bonazzi, Pasteur Institute, France
Alexandre Persat, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland
Enrique Rojas, New York University, USA

Phase Separation in Membrane and Lipids

Abdou Rachid Thiam, École Normale Supérieure (ENS), France, Chair
Trevor GrandPre, Princeton University, USA
Sarah Shelby, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, USA
Lindsay Case, MIT, USA

Biophysics of ER and Secretory Pathway

Sonya Neal, University of California, San Diego, USA, Chair
Christine Mayr, Sloan Kettering Institute, USA
Tae-Young Yoon, Seoul National University, South Korea
Irmgard Sinning, Heidelberg University, Germany

Cardiac Plasticity or Maturation - the Cardiomyocyte's Perspective

Cesare Terracciano, Imperial College of London, United Kingdom, Chair
William T Pu, Harvard University, USA
Seitaro Nomura, University of Tokyo, Japan
Nina Ullrich, Heidelberg University, Germany

Emerging Concepts in Microtubule Function

Sabine Petry, Princeton University, USA, Chair
Katerina Toropova, University of Oxford, United Kingdom
Kassandra Ori-McKenney, University of California, Davis, USA
Justin Kollman, University of Washington, USA

The Fluid Versus Gel Nature of the Genome

Laura Finzi, Emory University, USA, Chair
Marco Cosentino-Lagomarsino, University of Milan, Italy
Christine Jacobs-Wagner, Stanford University, USA
Speaker to be announced

Genome Organization

Ana Pombo, Max Delbruck Center for Molecular Medicine, Germany, Chair
Leonid Mirny, MIT, USA
Longzhi Tan, Stanford University, USA
Clodagh O'Shea, Salk Institute for Biological Studies, USA

Bioenergetics and Mitochondrial Biophysics

Uri Manor, Salk Institute for Biological Studies, USA
Jeffrey Cameron, University of Colorado Boulder, USA
Tatjana Kleele, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Speaker to be announced

Systems Biology from Molecules to Communities

Lacramioara Bintu, Stanford University, USA, Chair
Zaida Luthey-Schulten, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, USA
Elizabeth Jerison, University of Chicago, USA
Arjun Raj, University of Pennsylvania, USA

Plant Biophysics

Markita Landry, University of California, Berkeley, USA, Chair
Lucia Strader, Duke University, USA
Diwakar Shukla, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, USA
Martin Howard, John Innes Centre, United Kingdom

Climate Change: Adaptation to Temperature Changes

Kavita Rangan, University of California, San Diego, USA, Chair
Emily Carrington, University of Washington, USA
David Savage, University of California, Berkeley, USA
Cesar Cuevas-Velazquez, National Autonomous University of Mexico, Mexico

New Approached to Capture the Central Dogma in Eukaryotes

Xiaowei Zhuang, Harvard University, USA, Chair
Timothy Stasevich, Colorado State University, USA
Ning Zhao, University of Colorado, Anschutz Medical Campus, USA
Jumana AlHaj Abed, Harvard University, USA