Tuesday, February 20

10:45 AM - 12:45 PM

The Annual Awards Symposium is a highlight of the Annual Meeting.  During this session, awardees being honored for their scientific achievements each gives a short talk about the work for which they are being recognized.  The awards recognize excellence in diverse research areas, allowing attendees to hear about important biophysical work being done outside of their own specific area of research. 

Jue Chen
 Wonhwa Cho
 Carrie L. Partch
Bianxiao Cui

Taekjip Ha
James Spudich
Daniela J. Kraft


Lukas Tamm, University of Virginia, Chair


Jue Chen, Rockefeller University
Anatrace Membrane Protein Award
CFTR, the Odd ABC Transporter Responsible for Cystic Fibrosis

Wonhwa Cho, University of Illinois, Chicago
Avanti Award in Lipids
Quantitative in situ Imaging of Cellular Lipid Dynamics

Carrie L. Partch, University of California, Santa Cruz
Margaret Oakley Dayoff Award
Dissecting the Molecular Basis for Circadian Timekeeping

Bianxiao Cui, Stanford University
Michael and Kate Bárány Award
Topographic Cues for Manipulating Intracellular Signaling at Nanoscale

Taekjip Ha, Johns Hopkins University
Kazuhiko Kinosita Award in Single Molecule Biophysics
Physics of DNA and Chromatin Function

James Spudich, Stanford University
Founders Award
Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy and the Myosin Mesa: Viewing an Old Disease in a New Light

Daniela J. Kraft, Leiden University, The Netherlands
Biophysical Journal Paper of the Year Award
Microparticle Assembly Pathways on Lipid Membranes