Anne Kenworthy, Vanderbilt University, Subgroup Chair 

Membrane Structure & Assembly Subgroup 2016 Symposium
Saturday, February 27, 2016
Los Angeles, California

1:00 PM - 5:00 PM

1:00 PM Georg Pabst, University of Graz, Austria
Membrane Domains on the Sub-nanometer Scale 

1:35 PM 
Ludger Johannes, Curie Institute, France 
Using Glycosphingolipids to Build Endocytic Pits in Clathrin-Independent Endocytosis 

2:10 PM Tobias Baumgart, University of Pennsylvania
Membrane Curvature Regulation by Peripheral Proteins

2:45 Break

3:10 PM Mei Hong,
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Structure and Mechanisms of Actions of Curvature-Inducing Viral Membrane Proteins from Solid-state NMR

3:45 PM Steve White, University of California, Irvine
Translocon-guided Insertion of Transmembrane Helices: Cartoons vs. Reality

4:20 PM Karen Fleming, Johns Hopkins University, Thompson Award Lecture
The Versatile Beta-barrel Gives Up Secrets of the Membrane

5:00 PM Subgroup Business Meeting

2016 Thompson Award Recipient 

I am pleased to announce that Professor Karen Fleming of Johns Hopkins University has been selected as the recipient of the 2016 Thomas E. Thompson Award. This award recognizes an outstanding contribution in the field of membrane structure and assembly and celebrates the legacy of Thomas E. Thompson, a pioneer in the field of membrane structure and assembly, and a former president of the Biophysical Society and Editor-in-Chief of the Biophysical Journal.

The award will be presented at the MSAS subgroup meeting on February 27, 2016 in Los Angeles, California. Dr. Fleming will also present the Thomas E. Thompson award lecture at that time. Please join us there as we honor Dr. Fleming for her outstanding contributions to the field of membrane structure and assembly.

On behalf of the selection committee, I would like to thank all those who submitted nomination packages for the Thomas E. Thompson award and congratulate this year’s talented group of nominees for their many accomplishments.


Anne Kenworthy, Ph.D
2016 MSAS Chair