2012 New and Notable Symposium

Seven speakers were selected for the 2012 New & Notable Symposium from among over 250 submissions. The speakers, listed below, will present their work in the Symposium on Sunday, February 26 at 10:45 am.
Wei Cheng
University of Michigan
Single-Base Pair Unwinding and Asynchronous
RNA Release by the Hepatitis C Virus NS3 Helicase
Bertrand Coste
The Scripps Research Institute
Piezos Are Pore-forming Subunits of
Mechanically Activated Channels
Seok-Yong Lee
Duke University
The Crystal Structure of a Concentrative Nucleoside Transporter
Polina Lishko
University of California, Berkeley
Regulation of Sperm Ion Channels by Female Hormone
Progesterone as a Determinant of Male Fertility
Stefan Raunser
Max Plank Institute of Molecular Physiology, Germany
Subnanometer Structure of the Actin/Myosin/Tropomyosin Complex
Carol Robinson
University of Oxford, United Kingdom
Mass Spectrometry of Intact Membrane Complexes
Tamara Rosenbaum
National Autonomous University of Mexico
A Dual Effect of the Bioactive Lipid LPA onTRPV1 Activation
Sharona Gordon and William Zagotta, co-chairs of the New & Notable Symposium noted, “We are excited by the diverse new work that will be presented at this year’s New and Notable Symposium. From single-molecule studies through male fertility, the seven presentations will show off the breadth of fields represented by the Biophysical Society and the rigor of the biophysical approach. We are particularly proud to feature a number of junior investigators.”

February 2012 Table of Contents