BPS Council Approves Changes to Governance Structure

At the meeting of Joint Council in San Diego, its members approved changes to the bylaws that would eliminate the Executive Board and create a stronger, more effective Council by reducing the size of its membership and requiring it to meet more often during the year, including one meeting each year that focuses on strategic, long-term issues affecting the Society and field of biophysics.

The proposed changes have been sent to the Society membership for a vote. If the changes are approved, the newly reconstituted Council will begin meeting in the spring of 2013. In the interim, Council elected two of its members to the Executive Board to continue under the current governance structure. Karen Fleming of Johns Hopkins University and Taekjip Ha of the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, were elected to serve two-year terms (one year, if the bylaws changes described above are approved), replacing outgoing members Olaf Andersen and Ivet Bahar. Fleming and Ha will serve on the Board with President Jane Richardson, Past-President Richard Aldrich, President-Elect Francisco Bezanilla, Treasurer Linda Kenney, Secretary Lukas Tamm, and Council members Laura Finzi and Vasanthi Jayaraman.

At the recommendation of the Awards Committee, Council also agreed to suspend the Fellows Award for the 2013 cycle to allow time for an ad hoc committee to review and make recommendations for improving the award description and criteria as well as the nomination and selection process.



April 2012 Table of Contents