Arne Gennerich, Co-Chair (2016)
Charles Sindelar, Co-Chair (2016)
Erika Holzbaur, Co-Chair Elect (2017)
Joe Muretta, Co-Chair Elect (2017) 

Samantha Harris, Past Co-Chair (2015)
Jeff Moore, Past Co-Chair (2015)

The mission of the Motility Subgroup is to understand the basic mechanisms that underlie motility and contractility of biological systems. These processes are ultimately the result of molecular motors that convert chemical energy stored in ATP into mechanical energy that drives, for example, cell motility, cytokinesis and muscle contraction. The structure and function of the motor families myosin, kinesin and dynein are frequent topics of the annual meetings of the subgroup. Areas of focus also include the regulatory proteins that control the activity of motors and the cytoskeleton, which provides a structural framework within which the motors operate.


Join the Motility Subgroup
In order to join a Subgroup, you must be a member of the Society.


2016 Annual Meeting Program
2015 Annual Meeting Program
Past Motility Chairs
Past Programs
Past Evening Lecture Information
Motility Subgroup Bylaws