Elizabeth Jonas, Co-Chair (2017-2020)
George Porter, Co-Chair (2017-2020)
Jan Hoek, Past Co-Chair (2012-2016)
Gyorgy Hajnoczky, Past Co-Chair (2012-2016)
Erin Seifert, Treasurer (2014-2017)

The Bioenergetics Subgroup attracts participants with a wide range of interests. The primary focus is mitochondria and chloroplasts, from biogenesis to the structure and function of individual protein components. Much of the focus is on membrane channels, carriers and redox complexes. Recently there has been much excitement regarding the role of mitochondria in apoptosis and their ability to rapidly respond to changes in cell function. In addition, the detailed crystal structure of components central to oxidative phosphorylation has generated great interest in the molecular details of energy transduction. Finally, the subgroup’s annual Young Investigator Award recognizes excellence in the field of bioenergetics by investigators at different stages of their careers. 

Michelangelo Campanella (2016-2017)
Brian O'Rourke (2011-2017)
Gyorgy Csordas (2016-2017)

Elena Dedkova (2011-2017)
Pablo Peixoto (2016-2017) 
John Lemasters (2012-2016) 


In order to join the Bioenergetics Subgroup, you must be a member of the Society.

2016 Annual Meeting Program
2015 Annual Meeting Program
Past Bioenergetics Chairs
Young Bioenergeticist Award
Past Young Bioenergeticist Awardees
Past Programs
Past Bioenergetics Symposium Chairs
Past Bioenergetics Symposium Topics
Bioenergetics Subgroup Bylaws