Nanoscale Biophysics Bylaws

Article 1

Name: The name of this Group is the Nanoscale Biophysics Subgroup.

Article 2
Objective: The objective of this Group is to advance the field of nanoscale biophysics through the exchange of information, ideas, and innovative techniques operating at the scale of nanometers to tens of nanometers. The Group also seeks to serve as a mentoring platform for graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and junior faculty, both through the knowledge shared and their involvement in Group activities.

Article 3
Membership: A Group member is any Society member who submits his or her name to the Secretary-Treasurer and who has paid his or her dues for the current calendar year. Each Group member my submit via email, by October 15th, the abstract of one graduate student or postdoctoral fellow to the Advisory Committee for consideration as an oral presentation at the next Group meeting. Each Group member is limited to one abstract submission each year. 

Affiliates: An affiliate is a non-member of the Society who submits his or her name to the Secretary-Treasurer and who has paid his or her dues for the current calendar year. Affiliates will receive mailings to the Group and other services or activities as may be made available to members. Affiliates may not vote or hold office.

Article 4
Operation: The Group will be supported by an Advisory Committee consisting of the current Group Chairperson, the next Group Chairperson, the two previous Group Chairpersons, and the Secretary-Treasurer.

Duties of the Group Chairperson are to plan the agenda and speakers for the next meeting, to advise the Biophysical Society of the activities and needs of the Group, to advise the Society on matters related to nanoscale biophysics, and any other activities the Chairperson deems to be beneficial to the Group and the Society.

Duties of the Advisory Committee are to advise the Group Chairperson on the agenda and speakers for the next meeting and other matters of interest to the Group and to make nominations for the next Group Chairperson. The Advisory Committee is also responsible for selecting graduate student and/or postdoctoral fellow oral presentations from abstracts submitted by Group members as described in Article 3. 

Duties of the Secretary-Treasurer are to maintain adequate records of membership and finances and to conduct necessary correspondence and to submit items about the Group to the Biophysical Society newsletter and/or Website.

One graduate student and one postdoctoral fellow will be non-voting participants at Advisory Committee meetings.

Article 5
Term of Office: The Group Chairperson will serve for one year, beginning immediately following the Annual Meeting and continuing through the following Annual Meeting. There is no fixed term of office for the Secretary-Treasurer.

Article 6
Eligibility for Office: Only members of the Nanoscale Biophysics Group can be candidates. Members may not be Group Chairperson more than once every five years.

Article 7
Elections: It is the intent of the Group that the Chairperson shall rotate so as to fairly represent the different specialties within the membership.

The new Chairperson and Secretary-Treasurer shall be elected from a list of nominees recommended by the Advisory Committee and any other person nominated by at least five members of the subgroup.

The Group Chairperson will be elected at a business meeting of the Group at the Annual Meeting, will serve on the Advisory Committee for the next three years and will take office immediately following the next Annual Meeting.

Recognizing this as a mentoring opportunity, the Group will elect one graduate student and one postdoctoral fellow as non-voting participants of the Advisory Committee. Graduate students and postdoctoral fellows interested in participating will indicate their interest to the Secretary-Treasurer prior to the Meeting.

Article 8
Meetings: There shall be at least one meeting per year, the Annual Meeting, at the time designated for Group meetings by the Council of the Biophysical Society.

Business other than the election of the new Chairperson may be transacted by the Group at the Annual Meeting. A minimum of 30 days notice of the Annual Meeting, such as publication in the Biophysical Society or Group Newsletters, must be given for new business requiring a vote of Group members.

Group members attending an Annual Meeting can transact Group business by a simple majority vote.

Article 9
Dues: Annual dues are assessed to cover necessary expenses of the Group. Dues shall be collected from Group members by the Biophysical Society; affiliates will submit dues with their request to join the Group directly to the Secretary-Treasurer. Changes in dues structure will be enacted by a simple majority vote of the Group Chairperson and Advisory Committee. A tie vote on dues structure may be resolved by a vote from the Secretary-Treasurer.

Article 10
Expenditures: The Group Chairperson may expend Group monies for direct expenses connected with the operation of the Group and for all or part of the expenses of persons invited to speak at the Annual Group Meeting. The Secretary-Treasurer may expend monies to cover the direct expenses associated with this subgroup meeting.

Article 11
Amendments to the By-Laws: These By-Laws can be amended by a majority of members responding to a mail ballot or at the Annual meeting if at least 30 days notice is given.

Proposals for new or amended By-Laws shall be submitted to the Secretary-Treasurer for consideration at least 30 days prior to the Annual Meeting. Proposed amendments to the By-Laws may be placed on a mail ballot by a majority vote at the Annual Meeting or at the discretion of the Chairperson.