Membrane Biophysics

Teresa Giraldez, Chair (2017)
Jose Feraldo-Gomez, Chair-Elect (2018)
Alessio Accardi, Past-Chair (2016)
Christopher Ahern, Secretary-Treasurer (2015-2017) 
Mike White, Past Secretary-Treasurer (2012-2014)

The Membrane Biophysics Subgroup promotes the exchange of ideas and information pertaining to the study of biological membranes. Subgroup members pursue research in a variety of areas including the structure, function and regulation of channels and transporters, ligand-receptor interactions, signal transduction mechanisms, protein trafficking and secretory mechanisms. Each year the subgroup sponsors a symposium highlighting an area of membrane biophysics. The symposium is followed by a dinner at which the K.S. Cole Award in Membrane Biophysics is presented to a person who is deemed to have made seminal contributions to the field, followed by a short address by the recipient. Membership in the subgroup is open to all members of the Biophysical Society.

2016 Kenneth S. Cole Awardee: Roderick MacKinnon, Rockefeller University

Join the Membrane Biophysics Subgroup
Dues and Cole Award Dinner: $65 for members, $50 for students
In order to join a Subgroup, you must be a member of the Society.


2016 Annual Meeting Program
2015 Annual Meeting Program
Past Membrane Biophysics Chairs
Kenneth S. Cole Award
Past Kenneth S. Cole Awardees
Past Programs
Past Membrane Biophysics Symposium Topics
Membrane Biophysics Bylaws