To view abstracts (symposia, workshops, platforms, posters) visit the
 Itinerary Planner.

Sunday, February 16

8:15 AM - 10:15 AM

Membrane Transport in Fatty Acid Synthesis and Obesity
Ana Pajor, University of California, San Diego, Co-Chair
Da-Neng Wang, New York University School of Medicine, Co-Chair
Stephen Helfand, Brown University
Gerald Shulman, Yale University

Force Generation in Cell and Tissue Networks
Michael Sheetz, Columbia University, Co-Chair
Clare Waterman, NHLBI, Co-Chair
Alexander Bershadsky, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
Frank Jülicher, Max Planck Institute for the Physics of Complex Systems, Germany

10:45 AM - 12:45 PM

RNA Assemblies and DNA Origami
Christina Smolke, Stanford University, Co-Chair
Andrew Turberfield, University of Oxford, United Kingdom, Co-Chair
Luc Jaeger, University of California, Santa Barbara
Tim Liedl, Ludwig Maximillian University of Munich, Germany

New and Notable
Robert Nakamoto, University of Virginia Health Science Center, Chair
Blake Wiedenheft, Montana State University
Hao Wu, Harvard Medical School
Suliana Manley, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne, Switzerland
Basuthkar Rao, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, India
Elizabeth Chen, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Anne Kenworthy, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Erhu Cao, University of California, San Francisco

4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Cellular Stress, Protein Folding, and Disease
Judy Kim, University of California, San Diego, Co-Chair
Conner Sandefur, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Co-Chair
Santiago Schnell, University of Michigan
Nikolay Dokholyan, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Richard Morimoto, Northwestern University

Celebrating 100 Years of Crystallography: X-Rays Are Photons Too
Jane Richardson, Duke University, Co-Chair
Gregory Petsko, Brandeis University, Co-Chair
William Weis, Stanford University
Thomas Terwilliger, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Jamie Cate, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
John Spence, Arizona State University

Liquid Protein Assemblies in Spatial Organization and Ultrasensitive
Signaling in Cells

Julie D. Forman-Kay, Hospital for Sick Children, Canada, Co-Chair
Tanja Mittag, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital, Co-Chair
Régis Pomès, Hospital for Sick Children, Canada
Edward A. Lemke, European Molecular Biology Laboratory, Germany
Michael K. Rosen, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Monday, February 17

 8:15 AM - 10:15 AM

Molecular Basis for Regulation of Ca2+ Channels
Stephen Long, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, Co-Chair
Amy Lee, University of Iowa, Co-Chair
Heping Peace Cheng, Peking University, China
Jörg Striessnig, University of Innsbruck, Austria
Annette Dolphin, University College London, United Kingdom

Force Sensing in Muscle
Gabrielle Piazzesi, University of Florence, Italy, Co-Chair
Mathias Gautel, King's College London, United Kingdom, Co-Chair
Michael Regnier, University of Washington
Kenneth Campbell, University of Kentucky

10:45 AM - 12:45 PM

Biophysics of Personalized Medicine
Donald Engelman, Yale University, Co-Chair
Kathleen Giacomini, University of California, San Francisco, Co-Chair
Charles Cantor, Boston University
Atul Butte, Stanford University

Stochasticity in Cellular Processes
Rachel Kuske, University of British Columbia, Canada, Co-Chair
Nathalie Questembert-Balaban, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel, Co-Chair
Stanislas Leibler, Rockefeller University
Elizabeth Read, University of California, Irvine

Regulation of Cytoskeletal Motors
Kazuhiro Oiwa, National Institute of Information and Communications Technology, Japan, Co-Chair
Marileen Dogterom, AMOLF, The Netherlands, Co-Chair
Stanley Burgess, University of Leeds, United Kingdom
Yale E. Goldman, University of Pennsylvania

4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Future of Biophysics Symposium
Robert Nakamoto, University of Virginia Health Science Center, Chair
William Greenleaf, Stanford University
Mary Kraft, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Elijah Roberts, Johns Hopkins University
Megan Valentine, University of California, Santa Barbara

Molecular Basis of Voltage Dependence
Eduardo Perozo, University of Chicago, Co-Chair
Sudha Chakrapani, Case Western Reserve University, Co-Chair
Baron Chanda, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Yasushi Okamura, Osaka University, Japan
Nieng Yan, Tsingua University, China

Tuesday, February 18

8:15 AM - 10:15 AM

Biophysics in Industry: Putting Evolution in Practice
Kenneth Dill, Stony Brook University, Co-Chair
Timothy Gardner, Amyris, Inc., Co-Chair
Christopher Voigt, MIT
Peter Licari, Solazyme, Inc.

Mechanosensing in Eukaryotes
Valeria Vasquez, Stanford University, Co-Chair
Jeffrey Holt, Harvard University & Boston Children's Hospital, Co-Chair
Elizabeth Haswell, Washington University in St. Louis
Ardem Patapoutian, Scripps Research Institute
Miriam Goodman, Stanford University

10:45 AM - 12:45 PM

Awards Symposium
Francisco Bezanilla, University of Chicago, Chair
Douglas Rees, California Institute of Technology, Anatrace Membrane Protein Award
Michael Brown, University of Arizona, Avanti Award in Lipids
Arieh Warshel, University of Southern California, Founders Award
Miriam Goodman, Stanford University School of Medicine, Michael and Kate Bárány Award for Young Investigators
Sarah Veatch, University of Michigan, Margaret Oakley Dayhoff Award

4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Structural Dynamics of Molecular Machines
Julio Fernandez, Columbia University, Co-Chair
Yasmine Meroz, Harvard University, Co-Chair
Johan Elf, Uppsala University, Sweden
Robert Sauer, MIT

Molecular Self-Assembly - from in Vitro to Cellular Systems
Suzanne Gaudet, Harvard Medical School, Co-Chair
Roy Bar-Ziv, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel, Co-Chair
Todd Yeates, University of California, Los Angeles
David Savage, University of California, Berkeley

Applications of Quantum Mechanics to Biophysical Problems
Qiang Cui, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Co-Chair
Sharon Hammes-Schiffer, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Co-Chair
Kenneth Merz, Michigan State University
Ursula Rothlisberger, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Switzerland

Wednesday, February 19

8:15 AM - 10:15 AM

Myosin Motors in Vitro and in Cells
Michelle Peckham, University of Leeds, United Kingdom, Co-Chair
Margaret Titus, University of Minnesota, Co-Chair
Laurent Blanchoin, University of Grenoble, France
Jan Faix, Hannover Medical School, Germany

Biophysics of Genetic Switches
Ido Golding, Baylor College of Medicine, Co-Chair
Laura Finzi, Emory University, Co-Chair
Keith Shearwin, University of Adelaide, Australia
Lucy Shapiro, Stanford University

1:00 PM - 3:00 PM

Structures of Membrane Fusion
David Weliky, Michigan State University, Co-Chair
Erica Ollmann Saphire, The Scripps Research Institute, Co-Chair
Peter Kasson, University of Virginia
Lukas Tamm, University of Virginia

Biophysics of Cell Division and Spatial Relationships
Sue Biggins, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Co-Chair
Wallace Marshall, University of California, San Francisco, Co-Chair
Daniel Fletcher, University of California, Berkeley
Matthieu Piel, Curie Institute, France
Quick Links